East Coast Tour Recap (part 2) & VISUALS

Part of the reason my east coast tour happened at all was that I was asked to do visuals at July’s 8static. It went great, but not without some tribulations.

The sun makes it look like I’m arc welding or something.

It took me a little while to figure this out when I got to Rochester, but my video mixer took a real beating on the plane. Everything else survived intact, thankfully, but thanks to quick thinking, Nick’s graceful tool and space loaning, and a rad electronics shop down the street, I was able to hack things back together, albeit with a rotary potentiometer dangling out of the crossfader slot…

In the end, though, I’d say it was a success.

Kris Keyser – photo by chiptography (Marjorie Becker)

I got to have fun with some custom NES roms put together rather simply with nocarrier‘s awesome utility logones.

 

Once I came home, I got to jam on visuals again at August’s 8bitSF. The bill was a set of artists that Eric Fanali and I put together, and I was really excited to light up the stage for 1000 Needles, Slime Girls and Space Town Savior. Photographic evidence is short as of yet, but I’ll come back with more when it appears. I tried to step up my logones game a little bit with more complex custom lettering…

Photo by La Vie En Photos, but thrashed by Facebook.

Starpause provided visuals for the open mic and for my friends in Adonisaurus, and during Space Town Savior’s set, we plugged his rig into mine and jammed. That’s where the real magic happened, so I hope I can show that off soon.

Photo by La Vie En Photos and thrashed by Facebook (again)

Leave a Reply

